Home » creative writing » Creative writing – My life was filled with safety

Creative writing – My life was filled with safety

My life was filled with safety.

My life was filled with certainty, the comfort that wealth brings.

My life was filled with obliviousness.

We lived behind electronic gates, which lay behind a guarded entrance to our estates – double the security, double the distance from reality.

My parents were helicopter parents. Always hovering, always present.

Their wispy presence in the background was a source of comfort.

There was no need for anything.

The gardener took care of the grounds, the maid the house, the driver the long windy travel to the prestigious school in the suburbs, located behind more high gates and security guards.

My life was filled with safety, and then it wasn’t.

My life is filled with anxiety, thirteen kilos of sadness.

My life is now filled by prescriptions.

Leave a Reply

