Home » creative writing » Haste ye Back

Haste ye Back

1 ferry, 5 days, 4 photographers, 1400 miles, 624 photos

It started with a Facebook invitation in November to share a car journey to Scotland over the mid-term break.

At 6am on a cold Monday morning in late February I met my photography companions at the train station, ready for the journey ahead – to Larne in Northern Ireland for the ferry to Cairnryan in Scotland. The car journey up north was punctured by radio djs declaring it a crisp spring morning and a frantic search for any difference in the landscape once we crossed the border.

The next five days in Scotland were filled with a landscape so beautiful, I considered, for a moment, moving across the Irish Sea. ‘Like Killarney’ I was told. It certainly is, but so much more. The rain didn’t dampen our spirits, just the camera equipment. Burnt orange slopes on mist covered mountains and Bruce’s Stone filled my eyes. Small birds flitted from tree to tree and deer shuffled to the feeding hatch eager to see what visitors brought them. Otters in conversation park, capybara and the odd emu, made the week enchanting. The early morning chorus outside our lodge reminded me why the city’s choir of traffic doesn’t compare. Maybe I could live in Scotland after all.

We tumbled out of the car on an equally cold Friday night to get a connecting bus home. It had been an intense week of 12-hour days. Churches, ruins, animals littered my memory, the beginning of my love affair with an tAlban.

Haste ye back is an attempt to capture the beauty, wildlife and commitment to photography I encountered on my five day tour of Galloway & Dumfries, Scotland in February 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

